Society Executive

Michael Stephens

President and Board Chair: Michael Stephens

Michael Stephens worked in the Nuclear Safety Division of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency in Paris from 1977 to 1985.  He then joined AECL’s Whiteshell Laboratories to do safety assessments for the disposal of used reactor fuel.  In 1995 he moved to the Chalk River Laboratories and held several positions in waste management and decommissioning until he retired in 2011. 

James Ungrin

Vice-President and Board Vice-Chair: James Ungrin

Jim Ungrin joined the Accelerator Physics Branch in Chalk River in 1970.  He retired as  Manager of that Branch in 1996 when the Branch was defunded and serves as the Artifacts Chair for the Society.

Secretary: Morgan Brown

Morgan Brown is a reactor safety research engineer specializing in CANDU severe accident simulation. He has worked at AECL and CNL since 1989, at both the Whiteshell and Chalk River laboratories.

Treasurer: Don Barrington

Don Barrington joined the NRU Reactor Branch at Chalk River in 1969.  After a period as a Senior Shift Engineer he moved to the Reactor Technology Branch.  He retired as Manager of the Quality and Operational Safety Branch in 1998.

Allan Symons

Membership Director: Allan Symons

Allan Symons came to CRNL in September 1972, joining the Physical Chemistry Branch.  In 1986 he transferred to the Chemical Engineering Branch.  Immediately following his retirement in September 1999 he changed careers completely, setting up The Canadian Clock Museum that started its 22nd year in operation in Deep River in 2021.  This non-profit museum, with its focus on two centuries of Canadian clocks via its collections, web site, and publications, continues to help people researching their inherited and found clocks.  Allan has served as the Society’s Membership Secretary since its beginning.

Cataloguer: Tom Alburger

Tom Alburger was successively reference librarian, acquisitions librarian, and cataloguer at AECL Mail Library, Chalk River from 1972 to 1995. In retirement he is the Society’s published documents cataloguer.

David Cox

Director: David Cox

Senior Nuclear Professional, retired after 34 years employed by Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (1985-2014) and Canadian Nuclear Laboratories (2014-2018).  Diverse experience in Leadership of Nuclear Reactor Operations, Licensing and Safety Engineering, Project and Program Management, Waste Management & Decommissioning Project Delivery, R&D Management, Nuclear Fuel and Fuel Cycles, Fuel Safety, Fission Product Release and Severe Accident Management.  Currently sharing experience through consulting and volunteer activities including serving on several not-for-profit Corporate Boards.

Communications Director: Sourena Golesorkhi

Sourena Golesorkhi joined CNL as a reactor physics analyst in 2015 following the completion of a PhD in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. He coordinates the Society’s website and is responsible for any typos and spelling mistakes you encounter.

Public Affairs Director: Abra O’Leary

Abra O’Leary is a project engineering representative for the Capital Projects Department at CNL. She also serves as secretary for the Fusion Energy Council of Canada (FECC) and will send you monthly SPCNHI monthly updates if you become a member.